Over 3,888,949 readers this year!

Evansville Town Council fills vacancy, approves 2019 tax levy and more

Evansville Police Department (File; Trevor T. Trujillo, Oil City)

The Evansville Town Council swore in Sheena Hixon as council member during their Monday, Feb. 11 meeting. The seat became vacant in January 2019. Hixon’s term will expire in January 2021.

Hixon joins other council members Chad Edwards, Joseph Knop and Aaron Vigneault to sit with Evansville Mayor Jennifer Sorenson on Town Council.

The Council also approved its 2019 tax levy. The ordinance assesses taxes on properties within Evansville. The Natrona County Treasurer collects the taxes for the town.

The Council approved a resolution for an agreement with the Wyoming Department of Transportation. WYDOT will provide $20 per person to Evansville for road and sewer maintenance and snow removal. Underwood said that the town has to approve this resolution annually to receive the WYDOT funding. The financial assistance is available to towns with between 1,500 and 5,000 people.

Town Council also approved business licenses for American Pride Car and Dog Wash and Fly Vybes Hookah Lounge. Both businesses recently changed owners according to Evansville Town Clerk Janelle Underwood.

Evansville Town Council will hold its next meeting at 7 p.m. Monday, Feb. 25.