Cowboys' linebacker Logan Wilson named Butkus Award semifinalist - Casper, WY Oil City News
Oil City News Logo

Cowboys’ linebacker Logan Wilson named Butkus Award semifinalist

(Troy Babbit, UW Media-Athletics)

CASPER, Wyo. — Senior Logan Wilson has been named a semifinalist for the 35th annual “Butkus Award.”

Wilson is a linebacker for the University of Wyoming Cowboys football team.

“A total of 12 collegiate semifinalists and 15 high school semifinalists were announced, and Wyoming’s Logan Wilson was selected as one of the 12 collegiate semifinalists,” UW Athletics said on Monday, Nov. 4. “Wilson is the only semifinalist from a non-Automonous Five conference team.”

Article continues below...

The award is named after former Chicago Bears linebacker Dick Butkus.

“‘When a player receives the Butkus Award he will know two things,'” Butkus is quoted as saying on the award’s website. “‘First, he is recognized as the best of the best linebackers in America. Second, and in the long run most important, he will understand that this recognition brings a responsibility to serve others by giving back.'”

Wilson joins the following semifinalists for the collegiate award:

  • Joe Bachie, Michigan State
  • Zack Baun, Wisconsin
  • Jordyn Brooks, Texas Tech
  • Tae Crowder, Georgia
  • Jordan Glasgow, Michigan
  • Jake Hansen, Illinois
  • Anfernee Jennings, Alabama
  • Kenneth Murray, Oklahoma
  • Micah Parsons, Penn State
  • Isaiah Simmons, Clemson
  • Evan Weaver, California

Finalists will be announced Nov. 25 with winners chosen around Dec. 10.

Last year’s Butkus award recipients were the following:

  • Professional: Khalil Mack, Chicago Bears
  • Collegiate: Devin White, LSU (now Tampa Bay Buccaneers)
  • High School: Nakobe Dean, Horn Lake, Miss. (now Georgia)