Jai-Ayla Sutherland after being appointed to serve on the Casper City Council in Sept. 2021. (Dan Cepeda, Oil City)

CASPER, Wyo. — With one seat representing Ward I on the Casper City Council available, candidates Jai-Ayla Sutherland and Gena Jensen will advance to the General Election.

Sutherland, a current member of the Casper City Council who was appointed in 2021 after the resignation of Khrystyn Lutz, and Jensen garnered the most votes in the nonpartisan Primary Race, according to preliminary results from the Natrona County Clerk’s Office. Results are unofficial until certified by state and local officials.

Unofficial results in the primary were as follows:

  • Gena Jensen: 24.36%
  • John M. Minchow: 19.84%
  • Dennis Rollins: 17.00%
  • Travis Van Hecke: 9.22%
  • Jai-Ayla Sutherland (appointed in 2021): 28.74%

The two candidates advancing out of the primary will face off in the General Election this fall. The General Election will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 8. Absentee voting for the General Election will begin on Sept. 23 and run through Nov. 7.

More voting information is available from: