Enzi, Barrasso support U.S. withdrawal from nuclear treaty - Casper, WY Oil City News
Oil City News Logo

Enzi, Barrasso support U.S. withdrawal from nuclear treaty

Wyoming Senior Senator Mike Enzi and Junior Senator John Barrasso

CASPER, Wyo. — The United States will withdraw from the Intermediate-Range Nuclear Forces Treaty, effective Aug. 2. The Trump administration gave official notice of the withdrawal on Feb. 2.

Wyoming’s United States Senators Mike Enzi and John Barrasso are cosponsoring a resolution that signals support for President Donald Trump’s notice to withdraw.

“’Our withdrawal from the INF Treaty sends a clear message to Russia that we will not stand idly by while they work to openly violate treaties and international norms,’” Enzi said in a Thursday, Aug. 1 release from the Wyoming Senate Delegation.

Article continues below...

“’I applaud the Administration’s actions and am committed to working with our NATO allies to appropriately respond to Russia’s behavior.’”

Barrasso agreed.

“’I support the withdrawal of the United States from the Intermediate-Range Nuclear Forces Treaty,’” he said.

“’Russia has designed, tested and deployed weapons in direct violation of the treaty. Arms-control treaties are only effective when both parties abide by their terms in a transparent way. It is not in the United States’ interest to be the only country honoring this agreement.’”

The press release states that Russia has refused they are violating the treaty for years. It adds that the Obama administration attempted to ensure the Russians were in compliance and the Trump administration continued those efforts, but said on Oct. 20, 2018 that the U.S. would withdraw from the treaty.

The president has the power to decide to withdraw from the treaty on his own, the Wyoming Senate Delegation argues, but said that “Congress has an obligation to weigh in on the executive branch’s decision to withdraw the United States from a treaty because of its role in treaty ratification.”

Utah’s Senator Mike Lee is the main sponsor of the resolution.