Sept 16, 2022; Laramie, WY, USA; Wyoming Cowboys kicker John Hoyland (46) against the Air Force Falcons at War Memorial Stadium. (Troy Babbitt,-UW Media-Athletics)

LARAMIE, Wyo. — The Mountain West Conference announced its 2022 All-Mountain West football teams on Tuesday, and seven Wyoming Cowboys were honored. The team was selected in voting by the 12 Mountain West head coaches and media members covering the league.

For the fourth consecutive season, Wyoming has a linebacker on the All-Mountain West First Team. This season it is sophomore middle linebacker Easton Gibbs. He follows in the footsteps of former Cowboy linebackers Logan Wilson, who was named First Team All-MW in 2019, and Chad Muma, who was named First Team All-Conference in 2020 and 2021.

Gibbs finished the 2022 regular season averaging 9.2 tackles per game to rank third in the Mountain West and No. 23 in the nation. This is Gibbs’s first All-Mountain West Conference honor.

Place-kicker John Hoyland earned first team honors this season for the first time after being a Second Team All-MW selection two seasons ago, in 2020. Hoyland ranks No. 1 in the Mountain West and No. 9 in the country in made field goals this season.

Hoyland becomes the second Cowboy place-kicker in the last five years to earn first team All-Mountain West honors, following Cooper Rothe, who earned first team honors in 2018 and was named the MW Special Teams Player of the Year.

Five Cowboys received Honorable Mention All-Conference recognition this season. Those five are quarterback Andrew Peasley, punter Clayton Stewart, tight end Treyton Welch, defensive end DeVonne Harris and cornerback Cam Stone.