Over 3,888,949 readers this year!

Wyoming ‘antique’ vehicles could see definition change and new annual fees

(Dan Cepeda, Oil City)

CASPER, Wyo. — “Antique” vehicles in Wyoming are currently defined as motor vehicles which are at least 25 years old “and owned solely as a collectors item.”

The Wyoming Legislature is considering redefining antique vehicles as motor vehicles at least 40 years old which are owned as a collectors item.

House Bill 19 would also increase antique vehicle initial license plate fees from $10 to $50 and increase the cost of transferring license plates from $2 to $10. License plates available for antique vehicles in Wyoming are known as “Pioneer” license plates.

The proposed legislation would also add a new requirement that antique vehicles owners to renew registration annually. The cost of the proposed annual validation sticker would be $50.

The proposed fee increases and new annual validation sticker fees would generate an estimated $10,120 in additional revenues per year for the state’s Highway Fund, according to the Legislative Service Office.

That estimate is based on the state renewing about 253 “Pioneer” plates per year.

The proposed legislation would go into effect on July 1, 2021 if passed into law. The bill is sponsored by the Wyoming Legislature’s Joint Transportation, Highways & Military Affairs Interim Committee.

The Wyoming Legislature’s 2021 General Session will formally convene on Jan. 12, though the working dates of the session may be delayed depending on circumstances surrounding the COVID-19 pandemic.

Advertisement

Related