Over 3,888,949 readers this year!

UW Extension educators and partners receive national awards

Left to right: Amanda Marney, Bridger Feuz, Feliciana Turner, Juliet Daniels. Turner, health equity manager for the Wyoming Department of Health, received the 2021 WACDEP award for her innovative approach to health care policy. (Courtesy UW)

CASPER, Wyo. — University of Wyoming Extension members have received numerous national awards, according to a press release. The recipients include people from Natrona County, Campbell County, Sheridan County, and other areas of the state.

The full release follows:

Laramie, Wyo. — June 16, 2022 — At its annual spring conference, the University of Wyoming Extension celebrated awardees who earned recognition from professional associations at the state and national level.

Author of Wyoming Specialty Crop Directory earns recognition

Cole Ehmke, former community development specialist for the UW Extension, received the Epsilon Sigma Phi (ESP) Eta Chapter Mid-Career Service recognition for his Wyoming Specialty Crop Directory. With listings for more than 800 local food producers, farmers markets and community gardens, the directory is a “great resource for anyone interested in connecting with the local foods ecosystem in Wyoming,” says ESP President David Keto. “His work highlights Extension’s strength in elevating local community resources to create statewide connections.” Visit bit.ly/wy-specialty-crop-directory to view the publication.

Wyoming health equity manager applauded for community development efforts

Feliciana Turner, performance improvement and health equity manager for the Wyoming Department of Health, received the 2021 Friend of Wyoming Association of Community Development Extension Professionals (WACDEP) Award. In collaboration with the UW Extension, Turner developed a web-based survey instrument to gather statewide feedback from the public on Wyoming’s health improvement plan. She organized “a first attempt at utilizing technology for garnering input from stakeholders across the state,” WACDEP reports. 

Fremont, Albany County Extension educators commended by the National Association of County Agricultural Agents (NACAA)

Two UW Extension educators received national recognition from the NACAA for their exemplary performance. Chance Marshall of Fremont County received the Achievement Award and Brian Sebade of Albany County earned the Distinguished Service Award. Barton Stam, president of the Wyoming chapter of the NACAA, says both educators “work hard in their careers to further ag education and support the mission of UW Extension. They are appreciated by ag producers around the state.”

Wyoming 4-H leaders excel locally and nationally

UW Extension educator Emily Swinyer of Sheridan County received the Rookie 4-H Educator Award from the Wyoming Association of Extension 4-H Agents (WAE4-HA). The Rookie Award recognizes outstanding 4-H leaders with less than three years of service in the state.

Extension educators Joddee Jacobson of Natrona County and Kim Fry of Campbell County earned national awards for their leadership and service. 

Jacobson received the National Association of Extension 4-H Agents (NAE4-HA) Achievement in Service Award, which celebrates exceptional performance in members who have served more than three and less than seven years in extension youth programs. Fry received the NAE4-HA Distinguished Service Award, recognizing more than seven years of exceptional performance in extension youth programs.

About the University of Wyoming Extension

Since 1914, the University of Wyoming Extension has provided lifelong learning opportunities to Wyoming citizens across the state. With roots in agricultural education, the UW Extension supports rural communities facing contemporary challenges and changes. The UW Extension brings the University’s resources to each of the state’s 23 counties and the Wind River Indian Reservation. To learn more about the UW Extension, visit www.uwyo.edu/uwe or call (307) 766-5124.